The Women’s Prize for Fiction has announced their 2024 shortlist.

James Folta

April 24, 2024, 8:00am

The Women’s Prize Trust, which “creates equitable opportunities for women in the world of books,” has announced the shortlist for its fiction prize, which spotlights English-language novels written by women.

This year, the shortlists highlighted six novels that “both focus on intimate family relationships, as well as those that convey a sweep of history, always with an eye on the particularity of women’s experience.”

Cover of Anne Enright's novel The Wren, The Wren. Green with a blue bird.

Anne Enright, The Wren

V. V. Ganeshananthan, Brotherless Night

V. V. Ganeshananthan, Brotherless Night

 grenville restless dolly maunder

Kate Grenville, Restless Dolly Maunder

Isabella Hammad, Enter Ghost

Isabella Hammad, Enter Ghost

claire kilroy soldier sailor

Claire Kilroy, Soldier Sailor

river east, river west

Aube Rey Lescure, River East, River West

Judges Monica Ali, Ayọb̀ámi Adébáyọ, Laura Dockrill, Indira Varma, and Anna Whitehouse will select the winning novel, to be announced on June 13, 2024 at the Women’s Prize Trust’s summer party in London. The winner will receive £30,000 as well as a bronze statuette known as the “Bessie.”

Last year’s winner was Barabara Kingsolver, for her novel Demon Copperhead.

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top